Skip navigation

1923 APS Head of the River

Melbourne Grammar returned after a long gap to the winners podium at the fifty-sixth Head of the River on the Upper Yarra. The heats were conducted on 10th May with the finals on 11th May.

Melbourne led by a long way but were pegged back to only 1/2 length by the finish.

Geelong Grammar was coached by William H Pincott for the first time. Pincott had coached Geelong College from 1908 to 1916 inclusive before joining GGS. Pincott continued to coach the Grammar crews until 1945. The GGS rowing supporters group, the Pincott Club, is named in his honour.

William Harwood Pincott



Starter: T Davies

Umpire: T Crosthwaite
Clerk of Scales: K H Hadley

Head of the River

Time: 5:54.4
Margins: 1/2length and 2 lengths

1st Melbourne Grammar - Bow: C R Weir, 2: L G Travers, 3: N D L Waters, 4: E H Bawden, 5: F H Shore, 6: J C Garron, 7: T A Alston, Str: L K Corteen, Cox: C G McMicking, Cch: E Tulloch
2nd Geelong Grammar - Bow: J T Gildea, 2: T R Carr, 3: C A MacFarlane, 4: J B Bell, 5: D R Hawkes, 6: J A Tallis, 7: R W M Onslow, Str: J A Hardy, Cox: I R Mann, Cch: William H Pincott
3rd Scotch College - Bow: Peter A Learmonth, 2: Stanley G Hawthorne, 3: Stanley W Williams, 4: Gibson Shaw, 5: John McLorinan, 6: Stewart D Millar, 7: Victor H Beament, Str: Alexander F Sloan, Cox: Bruce McA Foster, Cch: Alexander B Sloan

The weather conditions did not improve from the blustery conditions experienced in the heats. Accordingly there were difficulties at the start and Scotch did not get away well, and in fact were never in the hunt. The two Grammar schools however had a good race. The Mebourne boys got out to a winnable lead which was fortunate as several boys in the crew crabbed just before the line. Fortunately the boat made it across the line without being caught by the Geelong crew.

Other crews included:
Xavier College - Bow: L J Plunkett, 2: P H Daly, 3: Christopher S Ryan, 4: L Hobbs, 5: N G Lawford, 6: W Gorman, 7: K Murphy, Str: John R Thomson, Cox: W Doran, Cch: Wilfred "Bill" Cahill
Wesley College - Bow: A R M Johnson, 2: A J Ralton, 3: A R Mansell, 4: K C C Davey, 5: V J L Baker, 6: O D Jones, 7: S G Nash, Str: K P Bladen, Cox: R J Lambert, Cch: Charles Donald
Geelong College- Bow: C F Waugh, 2: W B Hindle, 3: H C Fallaw, 4: H A Anderson, 5: R C McKay, 6: A L Rentoul, 7: A D Sproat, Str: E G Greeves, Cox: D M Dickson, Cch: H E Hurst

E1: 1st MGS, 2nd WC, Time: 6:11.0, Margin: 1 1/4 lengths. The strong SW wind caused difficulties in the start. WC led early but were overtaken by MGS from Morell Bridge, then known as Monier Bridge.
E2: 1st GGS, 2nd GC, Time: 6:17.0, Margin: 1 1/2 lengths. In similar fashion to the first heat, GC led early but wer overtaken at the Monier Bridge (now Morell Bridge).
E3: 1st SC, 2nd XC, Time: 6:33.0, Margin 1/2 length. SC had a bad start and XC capitalised on it well, taking an early lead. SC fought back to take the lead. A crab by the SC two man, brought the crews back level again but then SC settled themselves to take the race by 0.5 length.

Winning Melbourne Grammar crew

Photo courtesy of MGS archives

Geelong Grammar crew


Scotch College crew

1923 Xavier College crew


1923 Wesley College crew


1923 Geelong College crew



The coaches were given their own page in the program


Second Crews

(This race was not conducted at the Head of the River regatta, but the week beforehand on 5th May.)

Time: NTT
Margins: 3 feet, 1/2 length and 1 foot

1st Melbourne Grammar
2nd Wesley College
3rd Scotch College
4th Xavier College

Third Crews

(This race was not conducted at the Head of the River regatta, but the week beforehand on 5th May.)

Time: NTT
1/2 canvas and 1/2 length

1st Melbourne Grammar
2nd Scotch College
3rd Wesley College
4th Xavier College

< previous 1922
> next 1924

top of page