Skip navigation

1922 APS Head of the River

The fifty-fifth Head of the River returned to the Upper Yarra with a remarkable set of circumstances to unfold.

Scotch and Xavier had a dead heat in their heat before 40,000 spectators. A re-row was called for 5.30pm but it was clear not all the rowers had recovered. Their schools withdrew the crews from the re row.

Following lengthy debates the next day when both crews had recovered, APS Rowing Committee declared that both crews had forfeited their right to race in the final. The race was to be conducted between the other two heat winners only. There was considerable disappointment by all schools.

The heats were conducted on 12th May with the final on 13th May.


Head of the River

Time: 5:22.5
Margins: 1/2 length

1st Geelong Grammar - Bow: S L S Jackson, 2: K W Kernot, 3: J J Fagan, 4: E L G Guest, 5: W H S Newman, 6: R L Wilkins, 7: R W M Onslow, Str: G C Northcote, Cox: J H Webb, Cch: L C Robson
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: R R Webb, 2: L C L Murray, 3: J W Rhoden, 4: D C Mackay, 5: D Baillieu, 6: T R Lyle, 7: C E Alsop, Str: L K Corteen, Cox: J N S Harris

Other crews competing:
Scotch College - Bow: Reginald M Marquard, 2: Stanley G Hawthorne, 3: Robert E Chisholm, 4: Victor H Beament, 5: George B McKenzie, 6: Donald C Swanson, 7: Charles T Chapman, Str: Alexander T Park, Cox: William J McGregor, Cch: Alexander B Sloan
Xavier College - Bow: K W Murphy, 2: J R Thomson, 3: W G Brownless, 4: L V Lachal, 5: J Dynon, 6: C M Quinn, 7: F E Gorman, Str: K E Whitehead, Cox: P T Lynch, Cch: Wilfred "Bill" Cahill
Geelong College - Bow: G F Waugh, 2: A J H Gray, 3: R B Ronaldson, 4: A L Rentoul, 5: R C McKay, 6: C R H Lockwood, 7: A D Sproat, Str: H A Anderson, Cox: I S M Murphy, Cch: H J Young
Wesley College
- Bow: J J Richmond, 2: K P Bladen, 3: A H Barrenger, 4: G S Daley, 5: C L Lilburne, 6: A W Finlay, 7: T Standing, Str: N J Abernethy, Cox: F N Lee, Cch: Charles Donald

Heats results
E1: Dead heat XC & SC - Time: 5:19
E2: 1st MGS, 2nd GC - Time: 5:16.2, Margin: 2/3 length
E3: 1st GGS, 2nd WC - Time: 5:06.8, Margin: 1/2 length

Presentation of the Fairbairn Challenge Cup by Senator George Fairbairn


Geelong Grammar, winners of the 1922 Head of the River


Melbourne Grammar


Scotch College - dead heat with Xavier College in the heat


Xavier College - dead heat with Scotch College in the heat


Geelong College


Wesley College

Second Crews

(Not conducted at the Head of the River regatta)

Time: NTT
Margins: 1 1/2 lengths, 2 lengths and 1 length

1st Wesley College
2nd Scotch College
3rd Xavier College
4th Melbourne Grammar

Third Crews

(Not conducted at the Head of the River regatta)

Time: NTT
Margins: 3 feet and 1 1/2 lengths

1st Melbourne Grammar
2nd Scotch College
3rd Wesley College

< previous 1921
> next 1923

top of page