Skip navigation

1910 APS Head of the River

The forty-third Head of the River was conducted on the Upper Yarra with a three crew final and with Wesley continuing its winning ways.

Owing to the death of the King, the races were postponed until Saturday 21st and Monday 23rd May.

Xavier met Scotch in the heats and lost by only 1/2 length in a tight race. Wesley won their heat in even a tighter race, defeating Geelong Grammar by only 4 feet.

The final was rowed at 4pm with a strong north westerly wind blowing. Great difficulty was experienced in getting the crews away. Whilst Scotch got the best of the start, it was Wesley on the north station who prevailed.

The Scotch crew contained Clive Disher, the man who was to stroke the AIF crew to victory in the 1919 Peace Regatta for the King's Cup. The Scotch crew was coached by Albert Lindbalde, an early winner of the Head of the River race in the last century.

No second crew races were conducted.


Head of the River

Time: 5:00.4
Margins: 1 and 1.5 lengths

1st Wesley College - Bow: G C Rowe, 2: W H Kaighin, 3: Reginald McClure Abernethy, 4: N Surgeon, 5: R C Kershaw, 6: W L Armstrong, 7: H S Dickenson, Str: J L Doubleday, Cox: N S Edmondstone, Cch: Charles Donald
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: K D Watson, 2: R G Larkin, 3: R R Hill, 4: A M Forbes, 5: B D Wilson, 6: C R Sheldon, 7: L R Marks, Str: H Gellion, Cox: C R B Norton, Cchs: A J Sheppard & I E Giles
Scotch College - Bow: Frank W Fay, 2: Walter A Edmunds, 3: Gordon O Robertson, 4: Clive H Disher, 5: Joseph H Kelso, 6: James R Morrison, 7: Robert McCracken, Str: Clive S Steele, Cox: Leonard T Mullett, Cch: Albert G Lindblade

Other crews competing:
Xavier College - Bow: B Sheppard, 2: J Mahony, 3: J Cussen, 4: C Quinlan, 5: E Ryan, 6: P Morrissey, 7: R MacGillicuddy, Str: John Kerry, Cox: A Cussen, Cch: Jack Fogarty
Geelong Grammar - Bow: W L Cooke, 2: F H Lascelles, 3: A Y Bartlam, 4: C F Drought, 5: C H Rowan, 6: C N Armytage, 7: W R Allen, Str: A Spowers, Cox: R Chomley, Cch: A F Garrard
Geelong College - Bow: A D Gunn, 2: J C Kininmonth, 3: G C D Reid, 4: C L Young, 5: E Hearne, 6: J D Blair, 7: F M Collocott, Str: W A S Dunlop, Cox: J M Broughton, Cch: William H Pincott

Heat results:
E1: 1st MGS, 2nd GC, Time: 5:12.0, Margin 2 lengths
E2: 1st SC, 2nd XC, Time: 5:37.0, Margin 1/2 length
E3: 1st WC, 2nd GGS, NTT, Margin 4 feet

1910 Wesley College Crew

< previous 1909
> next 1911

top of page